skip navigation
Home Team Calendar News Links Contact

Sarsland named finalist for Mr. Hockey Award

02/25/2022, 9:30pm CST

Red Knight co-captain among 10 up for senior player of the year award.

SAINT PAUL, Minn. -- The Minnesota All Sports Alliance announced the top 10 candidates for the 38th annual Mr. Hockey Award today and Benilde-St. Margaret's senior defenseman Tristan Sarsland was named to the list.

Sarsland becomes the eighth Red Knight to be named a finalist for the award given to the state's top senior player. He joins Blake Friesen ('04), Patrick Daly ('11), Grant Besse ('13), Dan Labosky ('13), Spencer Naas ('14), Cade Gleekel ('16), and Nate Schweitzer ('20).

Besse became the only BSM player to win the award when he was named Mr. Hockey in 2013.

Sarsland became just the second defenseman in school history, after Jake Horton in 2010-11 and 2011-12, to reach double-digits in goals, having scored 12 in 20 games last season and 11 in 26 games this season.

He has led the team two seasons in a row in blocked shots, with 31 in each of the last two seasons.

In four seasons, Sarsland has played in 101 of the Red Knights' 103 games, playing all 28 games as a freshman and all 26 games this season.

For the 2021-22 season, he has scored 11 goals and 32 points. He ranks second with 122 shots on goal, three power-play goals and a plus/minus rating of +37.

Joining Sarsland as finalists for this year's Mr. Hockey Award are Alex Bump (Prior Lake), Joe DelGreco (Grand Rapids), Drew Fisher (Cretin-Derham Hall), Daimon Gardner (Warroad), Dylan Godbout and Leo Gruba (Hill-Murray), Barrett Hall (Gentry Academy), Gavin Lindberg (Moorhead) and Max Strand (Roseau).

The 38th annual Mr. Hockey Awards Banquet, sponsored by the Minnesota Wild, will be held Sunday, March 13, at 2 p.m. at the Saint Paul RiverCentre.

Four other award will also be presented at the banquet, the Frank Brimsek Award, given to the top senior goalie in the state; the John Mariucci Award, given to the Class A and AA coaches of the year; the Cliff Thompson Award, presented to the "Old Timer" coach of the year; and the Mr. Hockey Ambassador Award.

Tag(s): News  Team  BSM Varsity